Generic filters
Generic filters

For the Best Mobile Experience

Generic filters
The Tony Awards 2020 Nominations

2020 Tony Award Nominations

The Tony Awards are presented by Tony Award Productions, a joint venture of the The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.


“Jagged Little Pill”

“Moulin Rouge! The Musical”

“Tina — The Tina Turner Musical”


“Grand Horizons”

“The Inheritance”

“Sea Wall/A Life”

“Slave Play”

“The Sound Inside”


Aaron Tveit, “Moulin Rouge!”

Karen Olivo, “Moulin Rouge! The Musical”

Elizabeth Stanley, “Jagged Little Pill”

Adrienne Warren, “Tina — The Tina Turner Musical”


Best Revival of a Play

“A Soldier’s Play”


“Frankie and Johnny in the Clair de Lune”

Best Book of a Musical

Diablo Cody, “Jagged Little Pill”

John Logan, “Moulin Rouge! The Musical”

Katori Hall, Frank Ketelaar and Kees Prins, “Tina — The Tina Turner Musical”

Best Original Score

Christopher Nightingale, “A Christmas Carol”

Paul Englishby, “The Inheritance”

Lindsay Jones, “Slave Play”

Daniel Kluger, “The Sound Inside”

Jason Michael Webb and Fitz Patton, “The Rose Tattoo”

Best Direction of a Play

David Cromer, “The Sound Inside”

Stephen Daldry, “The Inheritance”

Kenny Leon, “A Soldier’s Play”

Jamie Lloyd, “Betrayal”

Robert O’Hara, “Slave Play”

Best Direction of a Musical

Phyllida Lloyd, “Tina — The Tina Turner Musical”

Diane Paulus, “Jagged Little Pill”

Alex Timbers, “Moulin Rouge! The Musical”

Best Leading Actor in a Play

Ian Barford, “Linda Vista”

Andrew Burnap, “The Inheritance”

Jake Gyllenhaal, “Sea Wall/A Life”

Tom Hiddleston, “Betrayal”

Tom Sturridge, “Sea Wall/A Life”

Blair Underwood, “A Soldier’s Play”

Best Leading Actress in a Play

Joaquina Kalukango, “Slave Play”

Laura Linney, “My Name Is Lucy Barton”

Audra McDonald, “Frankie and Johnny in the Clair de Lune”

Mary-Louise Parker, “The Sound Inside”

Best Featured Actor in a Play

Ato Blankson-Wood, “Slave Play”

James Cusati-Moyer, “Slave Play”

David Alan Grier, “A Soldier’s Play”

John Benjamin Hickey, “The Inheritance”

Paul Hilton, “The Inheritance”

Best Featured Actress in a Play

Jane Alexander, “Grand Horizons”

Cora Vander Broek, “Linda Vista”

Chalia La Tour, “Slave Play”

Annie McNamara, “Slave Play”

Lois Smith, “The Inheritance”

Best Featured Actor in a Musical

Danny Burstein, “Moulin Rouge! The Musical”

Derek Klena, “Jagged Little Pill”

Sean Allan Krill, “Jagged Little Pill”

Sahr Ngaujah, “Moulin Rouge! The Musical”

Daniel J. Watts, “Tina — The Tina Turner Musical”

Best Featured Actress in a Musical

Kathryn Gallagher, “Jagged Little Pill”

Celia Rose Gooding, “Jagged Little Pill”

Robyn Hurder, “Moulin Rouge! The Musical”

Myra Lucretia Taylor, “Tina — The Tina Turner Musical”

Lauren Patten, “Jagged Little Pill”

Best Scenic Design of a Play

Bob Crowley, “The Inheritance”

Soutra Gilmour, “Betrayal”

Rob Howell, “A Christmas Carol”

Derek McLane, “A Soldier’s Play”

Clint Ramos, “Slave Play”

Best Scenic Design of a Musical

Derek McLane, “Moulin Rouge! The Musical”

Riccardo Hernandez and Lucy Mackinnon, “Jagged Little Pill”

Mark Thompson and Jeff Sugg, “Tina — The Tina Turner Musical”

Best Costume Design of a Play

Dede Ayite, “A Soldier’s Play”

Dede Ayite, “Slave Play”

Bob Crowley, “The Inheritance”

Rob Howell, “A Christmas Carol”

Clint Ramos, “The Rose Tattoo”

Best Costume Design of a Musical

Emily Rebholz, “Jagged Little Pill”

Mark Thompson, “Tina — The Tina Turner Musical”

Catherine Zuber, “Moulin Rouge! The Musical”

Best Lighting Design of a Play

Jiyoun Chang, “Slave Play”

Jon Clark, “The Inheritance”

Heather Gilbert, “The Sound Inside”

Allen Lee Hughes, “A Soldier’s Play”

Hugh Vanstone, “A Christmas Carol”

Best Lighting Design of a Musical

Bruno Poet, “Tina — The Tina Turner Musical”

Justin Townsend, “Moulin Rouge! The Musical”

Justin Townsend, “Jagged Little Pill”

Best Sound Design of a Play

Paul Arditti and Christopher Reid, “The Inheritance”

Simon Baker, “A Christmas Carol”

Lindsay Jones, “Slave Play”

Daniel Kluger, “The Sound Inside”

Daniel Kluger, “Sea Wall/A Life”

Best Sound Design of a Musical

Jonathan Deans, “Jagged Little Pill”

Peter Hylenski, “Moulin Rouge! The Musical”

Nevin Steinberg, “Tina — The Tina Turner Musical”

Best Choreography

Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, “Jagged Little Pill”

Sonya Tayeh, “Moulin Rouge! The Musical”

Anthony Van Laast, “Tina — The Tina Turner Musical”

Best Orchestrations

Justin Levine, Matt Stine, Katie Kresek and Charlie Rosen, “Moulin Rouge! The Musical”

Tom Kitt, “Jagged Little Pill”

Ethan Popp, “Tina — The Tina Turner Musical”


These episodes feature the 2020 Tony Nominees.

Pin It on Pinterest